Musings

Silver Linings Playbook: A Very Pleasant Surprise

silver_linings_playbook

With Oscar Sunday fast approaching, as of last weekend, I had yet to see any of the movies nominated for this year’s Best Picture. Admonish me for failing to keep up with popular culture if you will, but in my defense, I work at a library, meaning I’m used to getting my fix of books and movies for free. Why bust out my credit card when I’ve got a perfectly good library card, right?

Well, last Saturday I bucked personal convention and ventured out to Movie Tavern. My group had originally planned to see Argo, but apparently, so had a bunch of other, more prepared moviegoers; it was sold out. We had to settle for our second choice, Silver Linings Playbook, a movie about a man with bipolar disorder who wants to make things right with his wife and ends up meeting another troubled soul along the way. Although I was aware of its multiple Academy Award nominations, including Best Picture, my expectations for the film weren’t exactly high. I’d never really liked Bradley Cooper, the lead actor, and I’d never seen Jennifer Lawrence, the lead actress, do anything other than kick butt Katniss-style, so I wasn’t sure what to expect from her in a more complex, mature role.

To say that my expectations were exceeded would be an understatement. I loved it. It was the perfect combination of serious, funny, and feel-good. The acting was high quality by all involved, especially the leads. I actually like Bradley Cooper now and think he did a very nice job of portraying someone with bipolar disorder. Overall, I just loved the way the movie made me feel. I dare you not to smile after the dance scene near the end. I dare you! I highly recommend you go see it. Or, wait until you can check it out for free at the library. I’d totally support that, too.

As many good movies are, Silver Linings Playbook is based on a book.* I plan to read it very soon to find out if, as is the case with most movies based on books, the book is better. Though it has a lot to live up to, I have high hopes.

*If you’d like to request a copy of the book, click here.

Leave a Reply

