Benbrook Library / Musings

Talkin ‘Bout Tornadoes

It’s tornado season, a fact of which several cities neighboring Benbrook were unpleasantly reminded this past Wednesday night. While I ultimately wasn’t personally affected by the storms (my condolences and kind thoughts to those who were), I was near enough to the path of destruction to deem it necessary to take precautionary measures. My wife and I gathered up pillows, blankets, flashlights, and our trembling, cowardly cat and took to the bathtub. Why the bathtub? I didn’t really have informed reasoning for that decision; I just heard growing up that it was the safe thing to do. Fortunately, a tornado didn’t come along to put the soundness of the bathtub shelter plan to the test, but I was left wondering about twister safety best practices.

There’s a lot of information about tornado safety available on the good ol’ Internet, but I’ve singled out this infographic created by the National Oceanic and Atmosphere Administration to share with you:

TornadoSafety

This FAQ by the Storm Prediction Center also has heaps of good information.

I also like this National Weather Service site, as it addresses my bathtub concern.

As it turns out, my bathtub was a pretty safe option, as it’s in a room near the middle of my house that has no windows. Wherever you choose to take shelter, make sure you have a plan in place ahead of time so that you can quickly get to safety the next time a tornado comes down the alley.

One thought on “Talkin ‘Bout Tornadoes

Leave a Reply

