Benbrook Library / Books

Talkin’ TV

game of thrones

I recently went on a major Game of Thrones bender and tore through all three season of the show in a few marathon sessions. Before I began watching, a friend told me GoT (as the hip crowd refers to it) is better than Breaking Bad, which I thought was pure crazy talk. While I’m not ready to put it on the Iron Throne and crown it Best. Show. Ever., I don’t think it’s at all a stretch to say that it’s in the conversation, and it has vaulted to near the top of my shortlist of personal favorites.*  Seriously folks, it’s that good. The story is highly engaging, the character development is expertly done, and the acting is superb. As many of you know, the show is based on George R. R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” series of books, the first of which, A Game of Thrones, was published in 1996. As has been discussed before in this space, movies and TV shows based on books rarely eclipse their source material in quality. Always eager to put this maxim to the test, I’ve decided to take the plunge and read the epically long epic series. I just started book one earlier this afternoon. I’m not nearly far enough along yet to pass any sort of judgment, but I have a feeling it’s going to be good ‘un. If nothing else, it will satisfy my need for a GoT fix until the new season of the show airs next year.

*For those interested, my favorite TV dramas are Lost and Breaking Bad. My favorite TV comedy is The Simpsons, seasons 1 – 10 (I don’t like to consider the junk that is still airing and ruining the show’s good name to be true Simpsons. It is, as the the good people at Dead Homer Society have aptly dubbed it, “Zombie Simpsons”). My favorite show overall is, and likely always will be, The Simpsons.

One thought on “Talkin’ TV

  1. Pingback: Have Some Celery With Your Chocolate: Philosophy and Pop Culture Collide | The Shelf Life

Leave a Reply

