Benbrook Library / Musings

A Birthday Surprise

Birthday2

It’s official: I have the coolest coworkers in the galaxy (if you’re thinking, “But Han Solo works with Chewbacca, and nobody’s cooler than him,” remember, those guys are in a different galaxy, one far, far away). Today is my birthday, and I came into work expecting little or no fanfare. I was okay with that. They had prepared me for it. Earlier in the week, we all went out for what was dubbed a “birthday lunch,” complete with dessert, with the understanding that it would be the full extent of my work birthday festivities. A good time was had by all, and I came away feeling adequately celebrated. I now realize that’s just what my devious colleagues wanted. As it turns out, they’re all filthy liars, but in the best possible way. When I arrived at my office door this morning, I was completely unprepared for what I found. Behold:

That Elijah’s a credit hound.

As if the elaborate decorations weren’t enough, they also set up speakers to play goofy birthday-related tunes on repeat. What have I done to deserve such hullabaloo? I really don’t know. I DO know that my beyond-Chewie-level-awesome coworkers went to great lengths to make me feel special on my special day, and for that I am supremely grateful. I have a feeling that this day will mark the beginning of years of birthday hoopla one-upmanship among us librarians. Don’t be surprised if in five years I’m relating tales of troupes of singing medieval minstrels or a bouncy castle somehow inflated inside our office in the name of a b-day celebration. It’s going to get wacky, maybe even zany, and that’s just the way I like it.

The next time a coworker of yours has a birthday, I encourage you to do a little something for him or her. It needn’t be extravagant; little things will do nicely. Sing a song. Give some chocolate. Send a hilarious e-greeting. It’s all great for morale, and it’ll make the birthday lad or lass more likely to share any acquired goodies with you.

Leave a Reply

