Benbrook Library / Library programs

The Relasering

Lasers

Me, standing proudly among the lasers. Not pictured: my struggle to get out.

Years from now, as I’m giving a bittersweet speech at my retirement party at Taco Bell* and regaling my admirers with the stories of my proudest accomplishments whilst they chow down on Doritos Locos Tacos and Crunchwrap Supremes, I’ll get choked up not when relating the elation I felt when looking into the joy-filled face of a child as I handed her the book that made her a lifelong reader, but when I share the tales of the laser obstacle course.

 
Yesterday, for the second time in two years, I crawled, climbed a ladder, high stepped, and shimmied around like a durn fool to put together a Mission Impossible-style laser grid using red yarn for our children’s Spy Party. It was tiring, sweaty work, but I’m probably as proud of it as anything I’ve done in my career. For real. I think I might add it to the “Special Skills” section of my resume.

 
Props, as always, to Miranda for coming up with tons of fun children’s programs and giving me the chance to help out in ways that allow me to have as much fun as the kids have participating in them. Here’s hoping we laser it up again next year. Even though it takes nearly two hours to construct the course and about thirty seconds for hordes of frenetic children to compromise its structural integrity, it’s totally worth it.

 

 

*I’m of course assuming that the 1993 movie “Demolition Man” will prove prophetic and all restaurants in the future will be Taco Bell.

Leave a Reply

