Benbrook Library / Musings

The Library: Decidedly Not the Post Office

 

A phone call I received earlier this week:

Me: Benbrook Library, how can I help you?

Patron: Did you know that I haven’t gotten any mail in three days? Nobody on my street has gotten any either. It just stopped coming. What is going on?

*Brief expectant pause*

Me (sympathetic, but confused): I’m sorry about that. Would you like me to get you the number for the post office so you can talk to them about it?

Patron (unphased): It’s been three days since I got my mail. It’s not just me, nobody has gotten any.

Me: I understand, but this is the library. You might want to talk to the post office about that. Would you like their number?

Patron: Oh, I guess I dialed the wrong number. (Without skipping a beat) I’ve seen the mailman walking right by, but he doesn’t stop. I haven’t gotten any mail in three days.

*Longer expectant pause*

Me (out of ideas, hoping the third time is the charm): I’m sorry, but this is the library. You should probably talk to the post office about that. Would you like their number?

Patron: Oh, well I dialed the wrong number. You’re a sweetheart.

*Patron hangs up*

Me (‘cuz what else can you do?): *Smiles*

Leave a Reply

